FAQs

This is our list of frequently asked questions about Sensei.

How do I create a team?

  1. First make sure that the colleagues you’re planning to add are already users. How do I add users?
  2. Go to the Users + Teams page
  3. Click New team and name your team. Save.
  4. Drag and drop users from the left column onto the correct team name. If you need to remove someone from the list that you accidentally added, simply click the red delete icon next to his or her name.
  5. Click Save.

I haven’t done a retrospective using Sensei yet. What can I expect?

Awesomeness. No, but really, check out this short Sensei Guide on Slideshare to review the current flow.

How do I create a new retrospective?

  1. Fill out information about the retrospective, including any message you’d like included in the invite sent to attendees. (Note: You’re the moderator of retrospectives you create. If you don’t want to moderate, have someone else create the retrospective.)
  2. Fill out the first field with the name of your retrospective. Teams often use the name of their iteration/sprint being discussed or the feature set. But, hey, name it whatever you want!
  3. Select the team you want participating in the retrospective using the dropdown.
  4. Click Save.

How do I add people to a retrospective I’ve started?

If you’ve started a retrospective and realized that someone needs to be added,

  1. Exit from the Waiting Room and click Users + Teams.
  2. Once you’ve added the new member to your team (see instructions above), go to Retrospectives and re-join the session.

Can I decide which emails I get?

By default, all Sensei members receive emails when they’ve been added to a new organization and invited to a retrospective. You also get a reminder when you’ve volunteered for an action. To manage these preferences:

  1. Click your email address at the top right in order to access your User Profile.
  2. Uncheck boxes next to the type of email you no longer want to receive.
  3. Click Save.

How do I invite users?

Inviting users is done in Users + Teams. If you are not an Administrator, you cannot invite users. If you are an Administrator:

  1. Go to Users + Teams and click Add Users.
  2. You’ll see a pop-up screen where you can enter your coworkers’ email address, separated by a comma.
  3. Enter a message for your new users to see in the Sensei invite.
  4. Click Send.

My users are not getting their invitations! What do I do?

  1. Check your Spam or Junk folders to see if they arrived there.
  2. Make sure users add us to their address books to prevent our mail from being seen as spam.

How do I leave an organization?

  1. Click the Organizations dropdown at the top right of your screen.
  2. Click Manage Organizations.
  3. Find the Organization you’d like to leave.
  4. Click Leave Organization.

How do I cancel an organization’s account?

Note: If you aren’t the Account Owner, you cannot delete an organization’s account.

  1. Click on the Organizations dropdown to the top right of your screen.
  2. Click Manage Organizations.
  3. Click the Edit next to the organization you’d like to leave.
  4. Scroll to the bottom to find the Delete Organization link.
  5. Check all of the boxes in the Delete Organization pop-up screen.
  6. Click Delete once all boxes have been checked.